Spirit: December 13th, 2013 Ritual

The following ritual was performed on the 13th of last December. It went spectacularly well. I recommend this to anyone who finds it interesting. I hope you enjoy it as much as I, and the Circle that I performed it for, did.

Pre-ritual:

– prepare the room with dragon’s blood incense
– set the bowls of water with pine leaves
– set the altar
– prepare the rosemary water

Ritual:

First- talk about the ritual. What you’re going to do different, why, and just give a summary of what you’re going to do in general

Second- Take a platter and go around the room, stopping at each quarter to lay out symbols for each element. Ring the bells on the dance stick or the bell as you walk from one quarter to the next.

Third- Have people separate into three groups and wait by the outskirts while the room is being prepared (making space for dancing around the groups)

Fourth- Purification

Remind people of the way the purification will go. Two rotations by the people purifying with the group facing outward, then two rotations with the group facing inward. Then the purificants dip their hands in the rosemary water.

One group at a time goes into the purification space (on the deep purple sheet). (Person 1), (Person 2), and I go around the group twice when they face outward, then twice as they face inward, then I ring a bell to signify when they dip their hands in the water.

Fifth- Journey

We set the area back up for journeying, i.e. the normal circle of chairs.
We give everyone a moment to relax and settle.

I explain to them about what we will be doing: We are going on a journey. This journey is to our safe space in nature. The beat of drums will take us on our journey where we will seek and meet our animal spirit. When you meet your animal spirit ask it three questions: What should be my primary focus or priority RIGHT NOW? What do I need to GET RID OF, LEAVE BEHIND , or STOP RIGHT NOW for this focus/priority? What do I NEED TO DO RIGHT NOW for this focus/priority? When you get you answers, remember them. We will be writing them down afterwards and burning them.

Have them repeat the three questions three times: What should be my priority RIGHT NOW? X 3, What do I need to stop or get rid of RIGHT NOW? X 3, What do I need to do RIGHT NOW? X 3

Tell them that the song will change at the end and bring you out just like the soothing beat will bring you in.

Start the song; tell them to relax and to breathe deeply.

Sixth- The Hat

The song has ended and the journey is over.

Remind them now that we will be passing around the hat, one by one, and when you have the hat, you go up to the alter. You go first to the right side where you write on a slip of paper what you found that you should leave behind, get rid of, or stop doing. You take the paper and burn it in the bowl. Then you move to the left and write that which you found that you should be doing to further your priority. You then take the paper and burn it in the bowl.

As the first song (Misty Mountains) starts, I hand over the hat to the first person.

As Misty Mountains goes off, other music is turned on.

Seventh – (Person 2) leads a grounding song and dance once everyone has burned their paper.

Eighth- I go around the circle counterclockwise, picking up the elemental symbols, silently thanking the elements. As I go around, I ring a bell.

Ninth- We gather around, hands held, and say “The Circle is open, but unbroken. Merry meet, merry part, and merry meet again! Hazzah!

FIN

About rosesrocksandredfoxes

This is my blog as an Eclectic Pagan. I found the path in 2009. I love to learn, read, explore, and create. I'm a college student right now and I'm always looking for more ways to 'be green' and connect more with the God/Goddess. I'm using this almost as my publicly viewed book of shadows. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Spirit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

